Starship Titanic - how to run? (for dummies)

About SheepShaver, a PPC Mac emulator for Windows, MacOS X, and Linux that can run System 7.5.3 to MacOS 9.0.4.

Moderators: Cat_7, Ronald P. Regensburg, ClockWise

lilasaur
Space Cadet

Starship Titanic - how to run? (for dummies)

Post by lilasaur »

Apologies for lack of knowledge, I am very new to this.
I am on a macbook pro running 10.10.4, and I have successfully managed to run sheepshaver OS9 by following the instructions on this site.
I downloaded the three starship titanic files from myabandonware. (.sit) but I cannot manage to run them on OS9.
It cannot open if I get them onto the OS9 desktop through the shared folder, as the application that created them cannot be found (?) IF they appear after putting them in the volumes list, they appear as untitled and still cannot open. Despite everything (i've even tried locking and unlocking the files in various places) I can"t open the game. What am I doing wrong?
Thanks in advance.

(edit: sheepshaver_UB_20140201, newworld86.rom, OS9 09.39.15.dmg.img)
neozeed
Apple Corer

Re: Starship Titanic - how to run? (for dummies)

Post by neozeed »

the easiest way I found to run Starship Titanic was to make it's own VM for it. I used System 7.5.3, along with stuffit to expand out the toast images on the 'native' filesystem, then mount the images on Sheep, run the installer, let it install it's quicktime, then run Titanic.

Although I see you are using a newworld ROM, and OS 9... I may have to see if I can get that combo to work.

I believe the key is that it needs to run it's quicktime, and game socket thing to work properly even though you may have later QuickTime installed it wants to check something for version 3 that I guess was not completely supplanted in 4.x or later.
don't do today what you can put off until tomorrow.
lilasaur
Space Cadet

Post by lilasaur »