Sheepshaver and a bag of problems :(

About SheepShaver, a PPC Mac emulator for Windows, MacOS X, and Linux that can run System 7.5.3 to MacOS 9.0.4.

Moderators: Cat_7, Ronald P. Regensburg, ClockWise

pumpkinspacelatte
Space Cadet

Sheepshaver and a bag of problems :(

Post by pumpkinspacelatte »

Hi there! I'm new to Mac emulations so this is all like Portuguese to me. Hold on its a bumpy ride. :lol:

I'm currently on Mac OS 10.14.16, I've been attempting to play Jumpstart 4th grade haunted island, and run it on OS 7.5 (which I'm starting to wonder may be the problem). I first downloaded basilisk II but for the life of me I couldn't get the game to play, it wouldn't mount. I tried placing the game in the hard drive and have stuffit open the .sit file, took a whole hour and nothing happen. I did it twice. This took 8 hours lmfao.

This morning I tried Sheepshaver with more luck, I was able to have the game properly mount on my desktop, but got frequent error 10s whenever I launched the game. When I loaded the "jumpstart update" in the folder, it let me proceed with the game. Played the game for an hour, and at certain points of the game it would crash. In three play attempts, it crashed in two spots, one spot twice. Okay whew. Tried to do what I did on basilisk, got the game in the hard drive, and again attempted to have stuffit open it, and did the same as basilisk. I'm guessing its the file, or I'm doing something obscenly wrong.

TLDR: Game keeps crashing at certain points, frequent Error 10s, also can't get the game to properly download in the system, it's just a disc on the "desktop".
Can anyone help me out? :(
Ronald P. Regensburg
Expert User

Re: Sheepshaver and a bag of problems :(

Post by Ronald P. Regensburg »

1. Did you install SheepShaver from the downloads here and did you follow our setup guide?

2. From where did you download the game?

3. Exactly how (step by step) did you get the game into SheepShaver?
pumpkinspacelatte
Space Cadet