Null Pointer Problems

About SheepShaver, a PPC Mac emulator for Windows, MacOS X, and Linux that can run System 7.5.3 to MacOS 9.0.4.

Moderators: Cat_7, Ronald P. Regensburg, ClockWise

RaygunJones
Space Cadet

Null Pointer Problems

Post by RaygunJones »

Hi all,

This is probably a very basic problem to which I should know the solution, but I've never used SS before and am totally unfamiliar with OSs earlier than X. So here goes:

I recently bought a copy of the OS port of Master of Orion II, so I decided to get SS up and running (on my Intel OS X 10.6.4 MBP) in order to play it. Everything went completely smooth with SS. I've installed 9.0.4, running with plenty of resources. Installed MOOII fine as well.

However, every time I launch the game, the window resizes slightly, and then is simply black. Eventually I get a "Null pointer" error message.

I'm only vaguely familiar with what a null pointer exception is, and have zero facility with programming, so in other words, I have absolutely no clue what the problem is or how to fix it, or if it even can be fixed at all.

I'm sure there's probably something really obvious that I'm missing. From what I've been able to gather through some exhaustive searching, other people are running MOOII in SS with 9.0.4 just fine. If anyone has any ideas as to what's going on here, I'd greatly appreciate the help.
Ronald P. Regensburg
Expert User

Post by Ronald P. Regensburg »

Maybe the game needs to run with a specific screen resolution and color depth and tries (in vain) to set that by itself. SheepShaver does not emulate all of the hardware of an old PPC Mac and the needed hardware may be missing in the emulator. You can try setting different combinations of resolution and color depth in Monitors control panel before launching the game.

And I do know if the following is related to your problem, but it is worth a try also: