Sheepshaver Ethernet Troubles (LAN)

About SheepShaver, a PPC Mac emulator for Windows, MacOS X, and Linux that can run System 7.5.3 to MacOS 9.0.4.

Moderators: Cat_7, Ronald P. Regensburg, ClockWise

lj6014
Space Cadet

Sheepshaver Ethernet Troubles (LAN)

Post by lj6014 »

Hello,
I have been trying to get ethernet to work on Sheepshaver for some time now so I could play Marathon and Minotaur over our local network with friends and family, but to my frustration it has not worked yet. I would prefer not to use apple talk to avoid being dependent on IPNetRouterX and have to spend $100, I have tried everything looking through every forum post about Ethernet & AppleTalk and nothing seems to work. Whenever I try to join a game I get no signs of other players, I'm using Mac OS X 10.6.8 on both computers and Sheepshaver 2.4 emulating Mac OS 9.0, Please Help!!!
josemedeiros007
Space Cadet

Re: Sheepshaver Ethernet Troubles (LAN)

Post by josemedeiros007 »

I am no expert, but others have mention that networking doesn't work on a 64 bit OS, and that you should run Sheepshaver an older 32 bit edition, at least on Windows. This is one area that really needs to be improved in future versions of Sheepshaver, as well as the latest release causes a Kernel mode dump, the older Sheepshaver is much more stable.
Ronald P. Regensburg
Expert User

Post by Ronald P. Regensburg »

Use an evaluation copy of IPNetRouterX. Have you tried the setup in our AppleTalk guide?

http://www.emaculation.com/doku.php/app ... heepshaver

(SheepShaver for OSX can be set by the user to run in either 32-bit mode or 64-bit mode. In OSX 10.6.8 (Snow Leopard), the setup should work in 64-bit also. The 32-bit limitation that josemedeiros007 refers to is an issue with Windows drivers.)
Last edited by Ronald P. Regensburg on Fri Jan 15, 2016 10:23 am, edited 2 times in total.
Reason:  
NucAr
Tinkerer

Post by NucAr »