call-method block-size failed with error ffffffdf

About Qemu-system-ppc, a PPC Mac emulator for Windows, macOS and Linux that can run Mac OS 9.0 up to Mac OS X 10.5

Moderators: Cat_7, Ronald P. Regensburg

Post Reply
InfoLibre
Student Driver
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2020 12:39 pm

call-method block-size failed with error ffffffdf

Post by InfoLibre »

When I start Debian 10 PowerPC version in QEMU with this command, GRUB menu appears :

Code: Select all

/usr/bin/qemu-system-ppc -monitor stdio -M mac99 -k fr -machine accel=tcg -m 512 -cdrom /home/david/Bureau/debian-10.0.0-powerpc-NETINST-1.iso -hda /home/david/Documents/Informatique et téléphone/Documentation informatique/Macintosh/Debian_10_LXDE -virtfs local,id=shared_folder_dev_0,path=/home/david/Bureau,security_model=none,mount_tag=shared0 -boot order=dc,menu=on -net nic,macaddr=00:a2:6d:80:10:8f,model=rtl8139 -net user -net user,smb=/home/david/Bureau -rtc base=localtime -name "Debian + LXDE sur iMac G3" -M mac99
Then, I choose "Default install", the screen is cleaned and "Loading..." appears. But after, nothing happens.
I've got this error message :

Code: Select all

C>> annot manage 'undefined' PCI device type '<NULL>':
>>  1af4 1009 (0 2 0)

>> =============================================================
>> OpenBIOS 1.1 [Mar 12 2020 14:02]
>> Configuration device id QEMU version 1 machine id 1
>> CPUs: 1
>> Memory: 512M
>> UUID: 00000000-0000-0000-0000-000000000000
>> CPU type PowerPC,G4
milliseconds isn't unique.
>> switching to new context:
>> call-method block-size failed with error ffffffdf
>> call-method block-size failed with error ffffffdf
What could be wrong ?
User avatar
Cat_7
Expert User
Posts: 6145
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands

Re: call-method block-size failed with error ffffffdf

Post by Cat_7 »

can you try a simple installation command?

https://wiki.qemu.org/Documentation/Pla ... #Debian_10
==== Debian 10 (Buster) ====
Note: To get a graphical desktop, at software selection, remove the default desktop environment and install only Xfce
Installing:
./qemu-system-ppc -L pc-bios -boot d -M mac99,via=pmu -m 1024 -net nic,model=sungem -net user \
-hda debian10.qcow2 -cdrom debian-10.0-powerpc-NETINST-1.iso -g 1024x768x8
Running:
./qemu-system-ppc -L pc-bios -boot c -prom-env "boot-device=hd:,\yaboot" -prom-env "boot-args=conf=hd:,\yaboot.conf" \
-M mac99,via=pmu -m 1024 -net nic,model=sungem -net user -hda debian10.qcow2 -g 1024x768x32

Best,
Cat_7
InfoLibre
Student Driver
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2020 12:39 pm

Re: call-method block-size failed with error ffffffdf

Post by InfoLibre »

With this command, GRUB menu doesn't appear, the screen remains black :

Code: Select all

$ qemu-system-ppc -L pc-bios -boot d -M mac99,via=pmu -m 1024 -net nic,model=sungem -net user -hda /home/david/Documents/Informatique\ et\ téléphone/Documentation\ informatique/Macintosh/Debian_10_LXDE -cdrom /home/david/Bureau/debian-10.0.0-powerpc-NETINST-1.iso -g 1024x768x8
With this command :

Code: Select all

qemu-system-ppc -L pc-bios -boot c -prom-env "boot-device=hd:,\yaboot" -prom-env "boot-args=conf=hd:,\yaboot.conf" -M mac99,via=pmu -m 1024 -net nic,model=sungem -net user -hda /home/david/Documents/Informatique\ et\ téléphone/Documentation\ informatique/Macintosh/Debian_10_LXDE -g 1024x768x32
I've got :

Trying hd:,\yaboot...
No valid state has been set by load or init-program
Last edited by InfoLibre on Wed Jul 15, 2020 2:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.
InfoLibre
Student Driver
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2020 12:39 pm

Re: call-method block-size failed with error ffffffdf

Post by InfoLibre »

I found this, I don't know if it could help...

https://lists.gnu.org/archive/html/grub ... 00001.html

My command line in GRUB menu is :

setparams 'Default install'
boot_one
User avatar
Cat_7
Expert User
Posts: 6145
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands

Re: call-method block-size failed with error ffffffdf

Post by Cat_7 »

Hi,

EDIT: Oh, I see. You are booting one of the later debian 10 cd images. They do seem to get stuck in the "loading" phase....
I was using the 2018 image from here: https://cdimage.debian.org/cdimage/port ... pc/iso-cd/

I do not think we will be able to solve that.

On second thought:
Mount the cd image and copy out both /install/initrd.gz and vmlinux

Adjust your command line like this:
./qemu-system-ppc -L pc-bios \
-M mac99,via=pmu -m 1024 \
-k en \
-drive file=/home/hsp/Linux-images/debian-10.0.0-powerpc-NETINST-1.iso,format=raw,media=cdrom \
-drive file=/home/hsp/Linux-disks/debian10.img,format=raw,media=disk \
-append "vga=off" -kernel vmlinux -initrd initrd.gz \
-boot d \
-netdev user,id=network1 -device rtl8139,netdev=network1

This will boot the cd image into the installer....

Best,
Cat_7


Which version of qemu are you using?
/usr/bin/qemu-system-ppc --version
should tell you.

How did you create the hard disk image? Which format is it in?

This command line works perfectly at my place to boot from cd image:

./qemu-system-ppc-adb85 -L pc-bios \
-monitor stdio -M mac99 -k en -machine accel=tcg -m 512 \
-cdrom /home/hsp/Linux-images/debian-10.0-powerpc-NETINST-1.iso \
-hda /home/hsp/Linux-disks/debian-10.qcow2 \
-boot order=dc,menu=on -net nic,macaddr=00:a2:6d:80:10:8f,model=rtl8139 \
-net user -net user,smb=/home/hsp/shared \
-rtc base=localtime \
-name "Debian + LXDE sur iMac G3"

This gets me to the yellow openbios window where I can start the installation process.

If you use boot order=dc Qemu will always try to boot from the cd image. So after a successful installation you should change that. menu=on does nothing for me.

Please note you have -M mac99 twice in your command line.
I took out the -virtfs line as my installation (and perhaps qemu-system-ppc) does not support it.

When you run -M mac99 Qemu emulates a G4, so your machine name is not correct. But this is only cosmetic ;-)

If you have not managed to do a full installation of Debian 10, then the second command line I gave you can never work as to boot process cannot find the required files on the disk image.
Last edited by Cat_7 on Thu Jul 16, 2020 12:53 pm, edited 3 times in total.
Reason:  
win.exe
Tinkerer
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2020 4:59 pm

Re: call-method block-size failed with error ffffffdf

Post by win.exe »

The cd images in https://cdimage.debian.org/cdimage/ports/ are unstable and can fail at any time.
InfoLibre
Student Driver
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2020 12:39 pm

Re: call-method block-size failed with error ffffffdf

Post by InfoLibre »

Yes, you are right !
All ISO images in https://cdimage.debian.org/cdimage/ports/ boot with qemu and GRUB, until 2019-07-16.
They don't boot with 2019-11-17 and newer. I will ask the question on PowerPC Debian list.
$qemu-system-ppc --version
QEMU emulator version 4.2.0 (Debian 1:4.2-3ubuntu6.3)
Copyright (c) 2003-2019 Fabrice Bellard and the QEMU Project developers
I removed the second option -M mac99, thank you.
How to emulate a grey G3 iMac ? It isn't the same option ?
User avatar
Cat_7
Expert User
Posts: 6145
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands

Re: call-method block-size failed with error ffffffdf

Post by Cat_7 »

That is an already somewhat old Qemu. You might have better luck after compiling your own version.

By default qemu-system-ppc emulates a G3. Only if you add -M mac99 it will emulate a G4.
The choice is between -M g3beige (which is the G3) or -M mac99 (which is the G4).

EDIT: to boot from the hd image after installation, mount the hd image and copy from /boot the most recent kernel and initrd.
Then you can use the following command line example to boot:

./qemu-system-ppc -L pc-bios \
-M mac99,via=pmu -m 1024 \
-k en \
-append root=/dev/sda3 -kernel vmlinux-5.7.0-1-powerpc -initrd initrd.img-5.7.0-1-powerpc \
-drive file=/home/hsp/Linux-images/debian-10.0.0-powerpc-NETINST-1.iso,format=raw,media=cdrom \
-drive file=/home/hsp/Linux-disks/debian-10.img,format=raw,media=disk \
-boot c \
-netdev user,id=network1 -device rtl8139,netdev=network1

Best,
Cat_7
InfoLibre
Student Driver
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2020 12:39 pm

Re: call-method block-size failed with error ffffffdf

Post by InfoLibre »

I can boot now with this BIOS https://www.ilande.co.uk/tmp/qemu/openbios-ppc-grubfix but GRUB doesn't install at the end.
I started qemu in a terminal with -monitor stdio option and then I had the qemu shell. With the qemu command sendkey ctrl-alt-f2, sendkey ctrl-alt-f1, I can switch to terminal in VM. So, I think I will be able to catch the /var/log/system file after a new installation and I will send it to Debian PowerPC mailing list.
InfoLibre
Student Driver
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2020 12:39 pm

Re: call-method block-size failed with error ffffffdf

Post by InfoLibre »

How to close this topic ? I opened a new : viewtopic.php?f=34&t=11175
InfoLibre
Student Driver
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2020 12:39 pm

Re: call-method block-size failed with error ffffffdf

Post by InfoLibre »

Hello,

I'm trying again to install Debian in a AQEMU virtual machine. I'm using this ISO file: https://cdimage.debian.org/cdimage/port ... INST-1.iso
As I'm using a newer version of AQEMU (0.9.2), I don't have anymore problem with BIOS.
I want to emulate the same machine than my G3: https://everymac.com/systems/apple/imac ... e_500.html
The choice is between -M g3beige (which is the G3) or -M mac99 (which is the G4).
My iMac is this: https://everymac.com/systems/apple/imac ... e_500.html
On https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Power_Macintosh_G3, they explain that it is a "Blue and White" iMac, not a beige iMac. So, must I use the -M mac99 option or the -M g3beige option? (I think -M mac99 is the right option).
User avatar
adespoton
Forum All-Star
Posts: 4227
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Location: Emaculation.com
Contact:

Re: call-method block-size failed with error ffffffdf

Post by adespoton »

InfoLibre wrote: Sun Apr 09, 2023 9:12 pm Hello,

I'm trying again to install Debian in a AQEMU virtual machine. I'm using this ISO file: https://cdimage.debian.org/cdimage/port ... INST-1.iso
As I'm using a newer version of AQEMU (0.9.2), I don't have anymore problem with BIOS.
I want to emulate the same machine than my G3: https://everymac.com/systems/apple/imac ... e_500.html
The choice is between -M g3beige (which is the G3) or -M mac99 (which is the G4).
My iMac is this: https://everymac.com/systems/apple/imac ... e_500.html
On https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Power_Macintosh_G3, they explain that it is a "Blue and White" iMac, not a beige iMac. So, must I use the -M mac99 option or the -M g3beige option? (I think -M mac99 is the right option).
You won't be emulating your specific iMac; the general emulated frameworks are for a beige G3 (ADB) and a blue&white G4 (USB). For any USB-based Mac, you'll want to use mac99 and a retail CD/DVD set. Depending on the extra parameters you set, you can add in different bits of hardware that may not have been present on the Blue&White.

You can, of course, change the gestalt ID to match whatever machine you want (that will change what Mac is reported to the OS), and you can adjust your hardware parameters (memory, drive size/type, number of USB ports, etc.) to match the iMac you want to emulate. But the emulator itself will have more capacity, and likely won't behave identically to the iMac on the hardware level. The biggest issue, of course, is that graphics acceleration won't be exactly the same, and audio may not be as smooth as expected. Plus, you can "insert" a higher speed network card to speed up network transfers between the emulated device and the rest of your network.
InfoLibre
Student Driver
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2020 12:39 pm

Re: call-method block-size failed with error ffffffdf

Post by InfoLibre »

Thank you all for your explanations and your help. I will use the -M mac99 option, even if I want to emulate a G3, because I've got USB and DVD reader. It will be more similar to my real iMac.
Post Reply