QEMU not running - no valid state has been set

About Qemu-system-ppc, a PPC Mac emulator for Windows, macOS and Linux that can run Mac OS 9.0 up to Mac OS X 10.5

Moderators: Cat_7, Ronald P. Regensburg

laribeiro815
Space Cadet
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2021 4:45 pm

QEMU not running - no valid state has been set

Post by laribeiro815 »

Hi!
I've been following
the guide https://www.emaculation.com/doku.php/pp ... mu-for-osx to run Mac OSX on my Big Sur, but when I run QEMU, I get a yellow command page with this error:

Trying hd:,\\:tbxi...
Trying hd:,\ppc\bootinfo.txt...
trying hd:,%BOOT...
No valid state has been set by load or init-program

What exactly am I doing wrong? I'm new at this, and I'm trying hard to understand what's wrong.

Thanks.
User avatar
Cat_7
Expert User
Posts: 6145
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands

Re: QEMU not running - no valid state has been set

Post by Cat_7 »

Hi,

Please copy the content of your qemu.command file in your answer.
And tell us what you are trying to achieve with it.

Best,
Cat_7
laribeiro815
Space Cadet
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2021 4:45 pm

Re: QEMU not running - no valid state has been set

Post by laribeiro815 »

Cat_7 wrote: Fri Jan 22, 2021 7:01 pm Hi,

Please copy the content of your qemu.command file in your answer.
And tell us what you are trying to achieve with it.

Best,
Cat_7

This is the content:

#!/bin/bash
cd "$(dirname "$0")"

./qemu-system-ppc \
-L pc-bios \

-m 512 \
-sdl \
-boot d \
-drive file=MacOStiger.iso,format=raw,media=cdrom \
-drive file=MacOStiger.img,format=raw,media=disk


I'm trying to use QEMU to run the Mac OS X 10.4, but I can't get past the installation because of the problem I mentioned before.
User avatar
Cat_7
Expert User
Posts: 6145
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands

Re: QEMU not running - no valid state has been set

Post by Cat_7 »

Hi,

This is on a macOS host?
You are missing an important part in the command file. Where did the -M mac99,via=pmu line go to? Without it, Qemu emulates a G3beige machine with a G3 processor which will not boot Tiger.

Please try this:

#!/bin/bash
cd "$(dirname "$0")"

./qemu-system-ppc \
-L pc-bios \
-M mac99,via=pmu \
-m 512 \
-boot d \
-drive file=MacOStiger.iso,format=raw,media=cdrom \
-drive file=MacOStiger.img,format=raw,media=disk

Best,
Cat_7
User avatar
adespoton
Forum All-Star
Posts: 4227
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Location: Emaculation.com
Contact:

Re: QEMU not running - no valid state has been set

Post by adespoton »

laribeiro815 wrote: Fri Jan 22, 2021 4:57 pm Hi!
I've been following
the guide https://www.emaculation.com/doku.php/pp ... mu-for-osx to run Mac OSX on my Big Sur, but when I run QEMU, I get a yellow command page with this error:

Trying hd:,\\:tbxi...
Trying hd:,\ppc\bootinfo.txt...
trying hd:,%BOOT...
No valid state has been set by load or init-program

What exactly am I doing wrong? I'm new at this, and I'm trying hard to understand what's wrong.

Thanks.
That code means you've loaded the EFI environment, and it has been unable to locate the EFI bootloading script on your provided disk image. It doesn't appear to have looked for a CD at all, so it's assuming you've already booted off a CD and fully installed an OS on the disk image you're referencing.
User avatar
Cat_7
Expert User
Posts: 6145
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands

Re: QEMU not running - no valid state has been set

Post by Cat_7 »

Hi,

It is definitely the empty line (the missing -M mac99,via=pmu) in your command file that prevented qemu to read the rest of the command file.
And then it defaults to trying to boot from a hard disk, which it cannot find as the -drive lines etc. were never read.

I just tried while omitting that line in my command file and I got the same error.

Best,
Cat_7
laribeiro815
Space Cadet
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2021 4:45 pm

Re: QEMU not running - no valid state has been set

Post by laribeiro815 »

Cat_7 wrote: Fri Jan 22, 2021 11:43 pm Hi,

It is definitely the empty line (the missing -M mac99,via=pmu) in your command file that prevented qemu to read the rest of the command file.
And then it defaults to trying to boot from a hard disk, which it cannot find as the -drive lines etc. were never read.

I just tried while omitting that line in my command file and I got the same error.

Best,
Cat_7
I put the missing line back, but the problem keeps happening. Still the same error.
User avatar
Cat_7
Expert User
Posts: 6145
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands

Re: QEMU not running - no valid state has been set

Post by Cat_7 »

Please paste your command line again.
From where did you get the Tiger iso?

Best,
Cat_7
wolarts
Space Cadet
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2021 5:46 am

Re: QEMU not running - no valid state has been set

Post by wolarts »

Have the exact same issue as OP, using latest version of QEMU. batch is as follows:
qemu-system-ppc.exe
-L pc-bios
-M mac99,via=pmu
-m 512
-boot d
-sdl
-drive file=MacOSInstallCD.iso,format=raw,media=cdrom
-drive file=MacOS.img,format=raw,media=disk

Disc image is a 10.0.1 image from my own physical disc.
User avatar
Cat_7
Expert User
Posts: 6145
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands

Re: QEMU not running - no valid state has been set

Post by Cat_7 »

Hi,

How did you create the CD image?
Is the above the actual content of your batch file? If so, that will not work. To have Windows read every line in the file as if it were all on one line, you should end each line except the last one with a space and a caret ( ^). For 10.0 and 10.1 you should use -M mac99 (not -M mac99,via=pmu)

qemu-system-ppc.exe ^
-L pc-bios ^
-M mac99 ^
-m 512 ^
-boot d ^
-sdl ^
-drive file=MacOSInstallCD.iso,format=raw,media=cdrom ^
-drive file=MacOS.img,format=raw,media=disk

Best,
Cat_7
wolarts
Space Cadet
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2021 5:46 am

Re: QEMU not running - no valid state has been set

Post by wolarts »

Cat_7 wrote: Sun Jan 31, 2021 6:20 am Hi,

How did you create the CD image?
Is the above the actual content of your batch file? If so, that will not work. To have Windows read every line in the file as if it were all on one line, you should end each line except the last one with a space and a caret ( ^). For 10.0 and 10.1 you should use -M mac99 (not -M mac99,via=pmu)

qemu-system-ppc.exe ^
-L pc-bios ^
-M mac99 ^
-m 512 ^
-boot d ^
-sdl ^
-drive file=MacOSInstallCD.iso,format=raw,media=cdrom ^
-drive file=MacOS.img,format=raw,media=disk

Best,
Cat_7
Disc image was made on a Mac and converted to ISO. Said image has also been used before for other emulation projects, so I am certain it is not the issue.
As for adding "^" symbols to the batch, this causes QEMU to not run at all, showing a blank command prompt then exiting instantly.
User avatar
Cat_7
Expert User
Posts: 6145
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands

Re: QEMU not running - no valid state has been set

Post by Cat_7 »

Hi,

I'm confused. You host is a windows machine? Did you add a space and a caret after each line?

Code: Select all

qemu-system-ppc.exe ^
-L pc-bios ^
-M mac99 ^
-m 512 ^
-boot d ^
-sdl ^
-drive file=MacOSInstallCD.iso,format=raw,media=cdrom ^
-drive file=MacOS.img,format=raw,media=disk
wolarts
Space Cadet
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2021 5:46 am

Re: QEMU not running - no valid state has been set

Post by wolarts »

Cat_7 wrote: Sun Jan 31, 2021 10:32 am Hi,

I'm confused. You host is a windows machine? Did you add a space and a caret after each line?

Code: Select all

qemu-system-ppc.exe ^
-L pc-bios ^
-M mac99 ^
-m 512 ^
-boot d ^
-sdl ^
-drive file=MacOSInstallCD.iso,format=raw,media=cdrom ^
-drive file=MacOS.img,format=raw,media=disk
Host is Windows 10 (Build 18363.1316)
Copied and pasted the batch you gave directly into Notepad++, and yeah I only get a command prompt and comes and goes immediately.
I got a tiny bit of progress after formatting my batch as such:

Code: Select all

qemu-system-ppc.exe -L pc-bios -boot d -M mac99 -m 512
-prom-env "auto-boot?=true" -prom-env "boot-args=-v" -prom-env "vga-ndrv?=true"
-sdl
-drive file=MacOSInstallCD.iso,format=raw,media=cdrom
-drive file=MacOS.img,format=raw,media=disk
But this just leaves me at a yellow command prompt hung after the lines:
"Trying cd:,\\:tbxi..."
"Trying cd:,\ppc\bootinfo.txt..."

The batch and all the needed images are in the root of the QEMU folder so I'm sure it can't be having a problem finding the images.
I'm no novice to setting up finicky emulation software but I am pretty stumped as well...
User avatar
Cat_7
Expert User
Posts: 6145
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands

Re: QEMU not running - no valid state has been set

Post by Cat_7 »

I've sent you a private message.

There is an issue with this:

Code: Select all

qemu-system-ppc.exe -L pc-bios -boot d -M mac99 -m 512
-prom-env "auto-boot?=true" -prom-env "boot-args=-v" -prom-env "vga-ndrv?=true"
-sdl
-drive file=MacOSInstallCD.iso,format=raw,media=cdrom
-drive file=MacOS.img,format=raw,media=disk
If you do not put everything on one line, batch processing in windows will only feed the first line to qemu-system-ppc.
The normal way in windows to have the batch processor concatenate multiple lines is to use space-caret ( ^) at the end of each line.
Another issue is that not all dashes are created equally. It can happen that some dashes are not understood by the command processor...

If things still will not run, put all arguments in one long line.

Best,
Cat_7
horstd
Space Cadet
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2021 11:46 am

Re: QEMU not running - no valid state has been set

Post by horstd »

Hello, I have the same error report on an iMac 2020 (intel) host with Big Sur. I am using the donationware UTM, which is an graphical interface for qemu (https://mac.getutm.app).

The options are:
Architecture:power pc (Mac99 based power pc)
QEMU machen properties: via=pmu
Boot Order= CD/DVD (there is no option for D::)
Drives are= Mac9.2.1.iso (from Macintosh Garden, I also tried 9.22. and 10.3, always the same error)
Image Type= CD/DVD (Iso Image)
Interface= IDE

The is another Disk Image (disk.0.qcow2
Image Type= Disk Image
Interface=IDE

The error messages are the same like in the beginning of this thread.
User avatar
Cat_7
Expert User
Posts: 6145
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands

Re: QEMU not running - no valid state has been set

Post by Cat_7 »

Hi,

Qemu can run Mac OS 9.2: https://www.emaculation.com/doku.php/pp ... mu-for-osx
The problem seems to be with the umt app? Perhaps asking on its discord channel can help you.

Best,
Cat_7
Happy4fang
Space Cadet
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon May 31, 2021 11:11 pm

Re: QEMU not running - no valid state has been set

Post by Happy4fang »

Hi QEMU experts,

I'm trying to emulate mac os x tiger in qemu
My host is a mac running Big Sur. When qemu runs I get a yellow command line with a the text below

Welcome to OpenBIOS v1.1 built on Oct 28 2019 17:09
Trying cd:,\\:tbxi...
No valid state has been set by load or init-program

This is my qemu.command file:

#!/bin/bash
cd "$(dirname "$0")"

Wayne

./qemu-system-ppc \
-L pc-bios \
-M mac99,via=pmu \
-m 512 \
-boot d \
-drive file=tiger.iso,format=raw,media=cdrom \
-drive file=macos_10.img,format=raw,media=disk

Thanks
User avatar
Cat_7
Expert User
Posts: 6145
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands

Re: QEMU not running - no valid state has been set

Post by Cat_7 »

Hi,

Your command line looks perfectly OK. I assume the tiger.iso you are trying to boot is to be blamed.
There are several postings about iso's that Qemu cannot boot. The hard part is finding an iso that will boot.

Best,
Cat_7

ps: We only dabble ;-) Qemu is a nasty beast not easily tamed through the command line.
Happy4fang
Space Cadet
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon May 31, 2021 11:11 pm

Re: QEMU not running - no valid state has been set

Post by Happy4fang »

Hi,
Thank you for the reply,

I downloaded from this link; https://archive.org/details/macosx10.4tigerretaildvd. Does this version work with qemu?

Thanks
User avatar
Cat_7
Expert User
Posts: 6145
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands

Re: QEMU not running - no valid state has been set

Post by Cat_7 »

Nope,

Please find:
691-5305-A2ZMac_OS_X_v10.4_Tiger._Includes_Xcode_2._Install_Disc_2005_DVD
at archive.org. The 2.6 Gb toast image boots without issue at my place.

Best,
Cat_7
Happy4fang
Space Cadet
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon May 31, 2021 11:11 pm

Re: QEMU not running - no valid state has been set

Post by Happy4fang »

Hi,

Thanks a lot.
I got qemu to work with tiger.
Now, do you know where I can find panther and jaguar.

Thanks
User avatar
adespoton
Forum All-Star
Posts: 4227
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Location: Emaculation.com
Contact:

Re: QEMU not running - no valid state has been set

Post by adespoton »

You can probably find what you want at archive.org or the Macintosh Garden.
User avatar
jonirob
Tinkerer
Posts: 76
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2019 6:03 pm

Re: QEMU not running - no valid state has been set

Post by jonirob »

QEMU compatible versions of Jaguar and Panther are available at winworldpc.com.
psh
Tinkerer
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon May 17, 2021 10:41 am

Re: QEMU not running - no valid state has been set

Post by psh »

I got this problem when i attempted to install Mac OS 9.2.2

No valid state has been set by load or init program

is there a solution cuz i want to install Mac OS 9.2.2 as my second OS after Mac OS X 10.1 on my QEMU
Happy4fang
Space Cadet
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon May 31, 2021 11:11 pm

Re: QEMU not running - no valid state has been set

Post by Happy4fang »

Hi,
I download a toast that works from this link:
https://macintoshgarden.org/sites/macin ... toast_.zip

The following is my qemu.command file:
#!/bin/bash
cd "$(dirname "$0")"

./qemu-system-ppc \
-L pc-bios \
-M mac99,via=pmu \
-m 512 \
-boot d \
-drive file=MacOS9.2.img,format=raw,media=disk \
-drive file=MacOS9.2.toast,format=raw,media=cdrom

Thanks
Post Reply