Login  •  Register


The time is now: Thu Sep 19, 2019 10:41 am

Emaculation wiki  •  Delete all board cookies



Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ]
Print view Previous topic  |  Next topic
Author Message
 Post subject: How put floppy disk?
PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2019 12:55 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2019 12:51 pm
Posts: 3
Hello,
I have trouble. I install program and put link to floppy in config file
but after few second program tell: Please insert other floppy
I mounting all disk but i cannot can change floppy


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject: Re: How put floppy disk?
PostPosted: Thu Feb 14, 2019 12:12 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2009 5:47 pm
Posts: 1303
Location: Germany
Some installers insist in changing the floppy disk during app installation.
Occasionally it is possible to copy all files from the needed floppies into a single folder on your emulated MacĀ“s HDD and run the installer from there.
If this workaround fails, you can only install from a Mac (emulator) with a floppy drive.
You may copy the installed app (plus any files that may have been added to System folder) to your desired machine later.

Basilisk II Build 142 for Windows does read/write Mac HFS 1.4MB floppies without issues.
800k and 400k floppies are off limits due to hardware limitations of PC floppy drives.

Which is the program you are having trouble with?
Maybe there already is a pre-installed app available?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject: Re: How put floppy disk?
PostPosted: Thu Feb 14, 2019 3:18 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 5550
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
A procedure that works with most installers from that era:

- Mount the first floppy. Drag the floppy icon to your virtual HD. A folder will be created with the same name as the floppy disk and with with the exact same content.
- Repeat this with all other floppies and make sure all the folders are in the same location.
- Open the first folder and start the installation. The installer will find the next folders needed for the installation.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject: Re: How put floppy disk?
PostPosted: Thu Feb 14, 2019 6:36 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Posts: 2684
Location: Emaculation.com
This procedure should work with Apple-style installers from the System 7.1 era through Mac OS 9. For installers from before 7.1 (~1993), the physical medium often needs to be inserted into drive 1.

Since this software is older, I generally use Mini vMac to accomplish this, by booting the OS and then dragging the disk image over the Mini vMac window to mount it. The installer will auto-eject the disk when it prompts for the next one, so you can just drag the one it asks for over the window and installation should resume.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
 

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group