Login  •  Register


The time is now: Thu Aug 22, 2019 7:59 am

Emaculation wiki  •  Delete all board cookies



Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ]
Print view Previous topic  |  Next topic
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Jan 19, 2019 9:31 am 
Offline
Tinkerer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 5:53 am
Posts: 87
So, I was wondering if Mini vMac might support the Macintosh IIx and a 68030 in the future? I'm asking because Fine Artist requires a 68030. Which was weird because it was able to install perfectly fine.

Image

I'm running Mini vMac 3.5.8. Here are my compile options:
-t imch -m II -hres 640 -vres 480 -depth 3 -sound 1 -sss 4 -ta 2 -em-cpu 2 -mem 8M -bg 1 -magnify 1 -n "minivmac-3.5.8" -maintainer "Microsoft Kids"

Or, is there a way to disable the 68030 requirement in ResEdit? Or fool Fine Artist into thinking that a 68030 is present? Creative Writer works perfectly though.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Jan 19, 2019 12:01 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star

Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2009 5:47 pm
Posts: 1296
Location: Germany
I´m positive that your MiniVMac II build emulates a 68030 cpu.
Fine Artist here runs in Basilisk II just fine: http://macintoshgarden.org/games/ms-fine-artist
Maybe you could add your CD image at Macintoshgarden - if it´s not there already, of course.

The error you got will be a generic one if the app "dislikes" your Mac (emulator) for some reason.
How did you mount the game CD? Looks like the CD must be "seen" by the game.
Did you try other colour depths than the default 256 colours?
Quote:
You can choose the emulated screen color depth with lines such as:
-depth 0 { black and white }
-depth 1 { 2 bit color (4 colors) }
-depth 2 { 4 bit color (16 colors) }
-depth 3 { 8 bit color (256 colors) (default for Mac II emulation) }
-depth 4 { 16 bit color (thousands) }
-depth 5 { 32 bit color (millions) }


Edit: Looks like the error is not related to the way the .cdr is mounted.
The cdr mounted with http://macintoshgarden.org/apps/virtual ... cd-utility triggers the same error in MiniVMac II.


Last edited by 24bit on Sat Jan 19, 2019 5:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Jan 19, 2019 5:21 pm 
Offline
Tinkerer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 5:53 am
Posts: 87
24bit wrote:
I´m positive that your MiniVMac II build emulates a 68030 cpu.
Fine Artist here runs in Basilisk II just fine: http://macintoshgarden.org/games/ms-fine-artist
Maybe you could add your CD image at Macintoshgarden - if it´s not there already, of course.

The error you got will be a generic one if the app "dislikes" your Mac (emulator) for some reason.
How did you mount the game CD? Looks like the CD must be "seen" by the game.
Did you try other colour depths than the default 256 colours?
Quote:
You can choose the emulated screen color depth with lines such as:
-depth 0 { black and white }
-depth 1 { 2 bit color (4 colors) }
-depth 2 { 4 bit color (16 colors) }
-depth 3 { 8 bit color (256 colors) (default for Mac II emulation) }
-depth 4 { 16 bit color (thousands) }
-depth 5 { 32 bit color (millions) }


Edit: Looks like the error is not related to the way the .cdr is mounted.
The cdr mounted with http://macintoshgarden.org/apps/virtual ... cd-utility triggers the same error.

Nope, Mini vMac currently only supports a 68020 (hence the -em-cpu 2 compile option). Yeah, I've got both apps running great in SheepShaver (and in Windows 3.1 in DOSBox as well). I just liked how you can magnify the Mini vMac screen and it not be blurry as when you full screen in SheepShaver.

Yeah, the game will at least launch if no cd is inserted. It only asks to insert the cd is you are try to access the sample text files, art files, animations or sounds. Creative Writer 1.1 is time stamped from August 1994 and Fine Artist 1.1 is timestamped September 1994 so, the system requirements should be the same, right? The only thing I can think of is that some of the art tools in Fine Artist require a 68030 over a 68020.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Jan 19, 2019 6:02 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star

Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2009 5:47 pm
Posts: 1296
Location: Germany
True, my bad. :)
I had my Mac_II running with a MC68030 and MC68882 for so many years that I mixed things up. :oops:
Of course the stock cpu was a MC68020.

Personally I doubt that Paul C. Pratt will add a MC68030 emulation in MiniVMac II in the foreseeable future, same for a larger RAM assignment.

Not sure what you want to magnify - larger screen or enlarged pixel?
I could manage to build a few wide screen flavours, but don´t need Magnify or Full Screen.
Quote:
For the Macintosh II emulation, these options specify the resolution of the external monitor, and shouldn't cause compatibility problems, at least if you choose values that were common on real monitors of the era. On the other hand, the Macintosh II emulation is unfinished, and not really usable yet.
Some example screen sizes:
common old Macintosh screen sizes
-hres 512 -vres 384
-hres 640 -vres 480
-hres 800 -vres 600
-hres 1024 -vres 768
common current screen sizes, but divided by two, so can use Magnify in full screen
-hres 512 -vres 384 { half 1024 x 768 }
-hres 640 -vres 400 { half 1280 x 800 }
-hres 640 -vres 512 { half 1280 x 1024 }
-hres 704 -vres 450 { half 1440 x 900, width constrained }
-hres 832 -vres 525 { half 1680 x 1050, width constrained }
-hres 960 -vres 540 { half 1920 x 1080 }
-hres 960 -vres 600 { half 1920 x 1200 }


The Magnify feature was described like this:
Quote:
Full Screen Mode
-fullscreen 0 { (default) start with Full Screen Mode off }
-fullscreen 1 { start with Full Screen Mode on }
-var-fullscreen 0 { Full Screen Mode is constant }
-var-fullscreen 1 { (default) Full Screen Mode is variable }
"-var-fullscreen 0" combines with -fullscreen like so:

-var-fullscreen 0 -fullscreen 0 { Never run in Full Screen Mode }
-var-fullscreen 0 -fullscreen 1 { Always run in Full Screen Mode }
In both cases, the "F" control mode command disappears.
Magnify
-magnify 0 { (default) start with Magnify Mode off }
-magnify 1 { start with Magnify Mode on }
The magnification factor can be changed:
-mf 1 { disable magnification }
-mf 2 { (default) 2x }
-mf 3 { 3x }
-mf 4 { 4x }
...
Disabling magnification with "-mf 1" removes the Control-M command.


My guess is that most blown up screen sizes will be blurry, I try to avoid that.
With SheepShaver/Basilisk II I could set the screen to my native display res. 1600X900 and run full screen.
No idea if this works with Retina displays just as well.
I usually want the dock visible, same for removable drives, so I go with 1300X700 most of the time.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Jan 19, 2019 6:44 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 5527
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
celebi23 wrote:
I just liked how you can magnify the Mini vMac screen and it not be blurry as when you full screen in SheepShaver.
My latest SheepShaver build, posted earlier this week, has the possibility to choose different scaling logarithms that will improve display in full-screen mode:

Download: viewtopic.php?f=20&t=7360
Setup guide: https://www.emaculation.com/doku.php/sh ... uilds_only


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2019 2:12 am 
Offline
Tinkerer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 5:53 am
Posts: 87
Ronald P. Regensburg wrote:
celebi23 wrote:
I just liked how you can magnify the Mini vMac screen and it not be blurry as when you full screen in SheepShaver.
My latest SheepShaver build, posted earlier this week, has the possibility to choose different scaling logarithms that will improve display in full-screen mode:

Download: viewtopic.php?f=20&t=7360
Setup guide: https://www.emaculation.com/doku.php/sh ... uilds_only

Oh dang. That pretty much solves everything. There were some graphical issues with it though. A decent amount of pixels were doubled for some reason.
Image
(Click for the full-size version)

But, besides that small issue this is going to work out great. Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2019 12:20 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 5527
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Try the integer scaling only.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
 

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group