Picking up where I left off...(I think)

About Mini vMac and all other 68k emulators, including SoftMac, Executor, and MESS.

Moderators: Cat_7, Ronald P. Regensburg

Rhetro
Tinkerer

Picking up where I left off...(I think)

Post by Rhetro »

I couldn't find my old posts from the before the blackout for some reason.

I'll try and get up to speed from what I remember:

I had been trying to make copies of some old 3.5 floppies of a game called Uninvited. I had downloaded the file from a freeware site called Macintosh Garden, however the file was incomplete and I couldn't find it anywhere else, so I decided that the best way to do this would be to copy the files off my actual 3.5 disk, and run them on my Mini vMac emulator. I'll try to be concise (I'm not good at this).

This is what I did to ruin my day :

I have some old Macs (a Mac SE, a Mac Classic, and a Mac Plus). The only one that is reliable at this point is the Mac Classic with it's Superdrive.

The idea, was to download some disk copy apps for 6.0.8, which is the OS that I have on my Mac Classic, transfer those disk copy apps from my PC to the Mac Classic, and use those disk copy apps on the Mac classic to copy these two original 3.5 floppy disks of the game Uninvited.

OK, I downloaded several of these 6.0.8 disk copy utilities onto a blank floppy from my pc using HFVexplorer, and installed them onto my Mac Classic.

Ran the disk copy utitilities on the Mac Classic, and when I inserted to copy the 3.5 disks, I managed to COMPLETELY ERASE the info of disk one of uninvited! -total idiot.

I had been receiving very kind help along the way, and jumped the gun and got ahead of everyone that was helping out. These are hard disks to find, and the only way to find them would be on e-bay. I was waiting for the disks to pop up on e-bay when the site went down..

This is what has happened since: