Smalltalk-80 setup

About Mini vMac and all other 68k emulators, including SoftMac, Executor, and MESS.

Moderators: Cat_7, Ronald P. Regensburg

brunel
Student Driver

Smalltalk-80 setup

Post by brunel »

I'm stuck trying to get Smalltalk-80 to work on Mini vMac. I'm probably doing something stupid as I'm a newbie.
I've created a 224 MB disk and copied over the Smalltalk files and folders using HFVExplorer in Windows.
My tests include an iMac as well as a Windows XP op system.

There's a version of the original Apple Smalltalk-80 system at Magic Garden:
http://macintoshgarden.org/apps/apple-smalltalk-80

I've set up a Mini vMac 6.0.8 system successfully using the instructions provided on this forum at:
http://emaculation.com/doku.php/mini_vmac_setup
but now I stuck how on what to do next to get the Smalltalk-80 software to work.

Any help or tips on the correct procedure would be appreciated.

thanks
Zenchess2
Space Cadet

Re: Smalltalk-80 setup

Post by Zenchess2 »

I know this is an old post, but I figured I might as well help if you still have problems and for anyone else who is interested in it.

To run the smalltalk-80 environment, you must find a .image file that is double clickable. In other words it will have a picture on it (instead of being just a static file) and will be in the same directory as the virtual machine program.

Double click on the image file, and then follow the directions you can find on the net and the website you got the program from for fixing the error that comes up about wrong hard disk volume from within the smalltalk environment.

I personally am using this smalltalk environment to go through the original smalltalk-80 book. It's a real treasure to have the apple version out there somewhere, as it's quite difficult to get and run any other smalltalk 80 system.
brunel
Student Driver

Post by brunel »