which emulator is right for me

About Mini vMac and all other 68k emulators, including SoftMac, Executor, and MESS.

Moderators: Cat_7, Ronald P. Regensburg

Arton
Space Cadet

which emulator is right for me

Post by Arton »

I am new so I am sorry if this has already been answered. I am running an iMac 10.12.6 and I so far have been lead to believe that this computer is too new to work with an emulator for the game Allied General. This game came out in 95 and I really want to play it again. I have another computer that is 9.2. I didn't see any of the emulators that cover this version of the os. I am not very good with software or the internet so any directions will have to be painfully specific lol. I hope that the rumours of emulators harming computers is false but either way I would like to know if it is true. I looked at code weavers for this computer but the game won't work so I thought my older one might be easier. I would need to know which emulator, how to get said, how to install it and how to get it from this computer to my old one which is not on the net. Assuming that there is some difference to disc initialization from new to old. Also as a side note can the old one run xp emulator as well or would that be easier on this computer?
Cat_7
Expert User

Re: which emulator is right for me

Post by Cat_7 »

Hi,

That game seems not to run on Mac OS 9. Mac OS 8.6 is the highest version that supports it.

See here for information: http://macintoshgarden.org/games/allied-general

So you best bet would be to install BasiliskII on your Mac with 10.12. Install Mac OS 8.1 and then install the game. BasiliskII nor the game will run on your Mac with Mac OS 9.2.

We have an extensive guide here:
https://www.emaculation.com/doku.php/ba ... _osx_setup

Best,
Cat_7
mabam
Master Emulator

Post by mabam »

Arton wrote:Also as a side note can the old one run xp emulator as well or would that be easier on this computer?