Login  •  Register


The time is now: Sun Jul 12, 2020 10:51 pm

Emaculation wiki  •  Delete all board cookies



Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ]
Print view Previous topic  |  Next topic
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Jan 10, 2020 2:45 am 
Offline
Forum All-Star

Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 12:12 am
Posts: 1194
A user of one of my SheepShaver based applications reported this.

Install TouchBase Pro in SheepShaver (under MacOS 8.6 or 9.04):

https://www.macintoshrepository.org/235 ... pro-cd-4-2

Open one of the sample files. You can't resize the window by dragging on its corner, as you can with any other window.

Install the same program in BasiliskII (I used System 7.6.1) and the window is easily resizable. Apparently this was not a problem in older SheepShaver versions (though I haven't checked) or in a G3 PowerBook running MacOS 9.x.

Is there a fix for this?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 10, 2020 9:10 am 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 6017
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
emendelson wrote:
Apparently this was not a problem in older SheepShaver versions (though I haven't checked)
Any reliable reports that this was not a problem in earlier SheepShaver versions and, if so, in which SheepShaver versions?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 10, 2020 12:39 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star

Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 12:12 am
Posts: 1194
Ronald P. Regensburg wrote:
emendelson wrote:
Apparently this was not a problem in older SheepShaver versions (though I haven't checked)
Any reliable reports that this was not a problem in earlier SheepShaver versions and, if so, in which SheepShaver versions?


Good question. I tested this in a 2013 build that I made, and the same problem occurs in that version of SheepShaver. I looked again at my informant's message, and he says that he was able to resize the window on an older version of SheepShaver running in High Sierra. He has the problem in Mojave with the current version. I'll experiment further.

EDIT: The same problem occurs in the 2013 build in a Sierra system (in VMware). I think my informant may misremember that he simply maximized the window. But it would be interesting to know whether resizing was a problem on real hardware. Time to get out the old Pismo...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 10, 2020 2:14 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star

Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 12:12 am
Posts: 1194
Ignore all this. I tried it out in Classic in Tiger on an old G4 PowerBook. The window won't resize there either - it will only maximize. Apologies for time-wasting.

EDIT: And it won't resize on a Pismo running MacOS 9.2.2. So I apologize again for wasting time...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 10, 2020 9:15 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star

Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 12:12 am
Posts: 1194
And the solution to the problem is to make a change in the Preferences, Miscellaneous menu of TouchBase Pro, and either hide the alphabetical tabs or place them at the top of the window. My informant seems to have forgotten that he had done this in earlier version of SheepShaver, and assumed that SheepShaver itself was the problem.

Apologies again for time-wasting.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 25 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
 

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group