I got Apple's Official MAE 3.0 emulator for HPUX running in Windows

About Mini vMac and all other 68k emulators, including SoftMac, Executor, and MESS.

Moderators: Cat_7, Ronald P. Regensburg

Newtonian
Space Cadet

I got Apple's Official MAE 3.0 emulator for HPUX running in Windows

Post by Newtonian »

In the mid ‘90s, Apple developed their own 68k Mac emulator called the “Macintosh Application Environment (MAE)” for a bunch of commercial UNIX operating systems. One of these was HP-UX, the OS for HP’s PA-RISC line of workstations.

I have used Qemu to emulate a 32-bit PA-RISC machine on my Windows PC which I used to boot HP-UX 11.11 in which I have successfully launched MAE 3.0 update 2. I have not found any mentions of anyone else trying this approach on the Internet so I wanted to share my discovery.

WARNING! The mouse is really wonky, I have some ideas on how to deal with this but for now controlling the cursor is very difficult. Also, I am a Qemu novice so I have not yet read up on how to enable networking so no networking for now. I have barely tested this so I do not know how stable it is.

Once I find solutions, I will update my instructions.

Setting up HP-UX
First, you must use qemu version 5.1.0. Go to qemu.org and get the installer named qemu-w64-setup-20200814.exe.

You also need hp-ux 11.11 installation media in the .iso format. It comes as four CDs.

You will need the MAE installation media in the .iso format. If you only have loose files, just use Infra Recorder to create a data CD and then instead of burning to a real disc, choose Actions -> Burn Compilation -> To a disc image. I used this to create an .iso the contains the HP-UX installer tarball and a license file.

You need to create the hard drive image. Use whatever tool you have to produce an empty 10GB file. I used the ‘dd’ command in my cygwin environment as such:
dd if=/dev/zero of=hpux11.img bs=1024 count=10M