SheepShaver and Keyboard Access

About SheepShaver, a PPC Mac emulator for Windows, MacOS X, and Linux that can run System 7.5.3 to MacOS 9.0.4.

Moderators: Cat_7, Ronald P. Regensburg, ClockWise

Bannon
Space Cadet

SheepShaver and Keyboard Access

Post by Bannon »

Let me start with the caveat that I am a novice Mac user but not a novice to personal computers ...

I am trying to setup SheepShaver (SS) on a 2018 Mac Mini with 8GB memory and running 12.2.1 and I am not getting very far:

- I downloaded the SS folder and dropped it on the desktop
- I downloaded the 64 bit version of SS and copied it into the SS folder
- I downloaded the New World PPC ROM from Redundant Robot, renamed it to Mac OS ROM, and copied it into the SS folder
- I downloaded MacOS 9.0.4 from Macintosh Garden and copied it to the SS folder
- When starting (double clicking) on SS I receiver a message saying SS would like to receive keystrokes from any application; I open system preferences; and add SS to the input monitoring section; but this doesn't change the error message. I cannot get past this step.

Please help!
adespoton
Forum All-Star

Re: SheepShaver and Keyboard Access

Post by adespoton »

Sounds like you're on the right path. Try moving the SheepShaver folder to your Applications folder now. Then run it from there; after any notifications, you should be able to go to File->Preferences to continue setup.
Ronald P. Regensburg
Expert User

Post by Ronald P. Regensburg »

It is a known issue with one of the older SheepShaver builds. The build was replaced quickly with a build that fixed the issue. Exactly which SheepShaver build (build date!) do you use?
Ronald P. Regensburg
Expert User

Post by Ronald P. Regensburg »

Looked back. The issue emerged in macOS Catalina and was solved in the 4 December 2019 build.

You are probably running the 4 May 2019, 64-bit Intel build, which should not be used on macOS later than 10.12 (Sierra).